Skip Navigation

The Sector Skills Council for the places where we live and work 

TTG_logo_100

Phone 01392 423 399

Train to Gain

A "Compact" agreement that existed between Asset Skills and the Government to promote Train to Gain funding to employers in the footprint drew to a close in July 2011.

The programme helps English businesses invest in training to help them grow and succeed.

Although the service is closing, funding has been allocated so that learners who started their training prior to 31 July 2011 can complete their course.

The closure of the service was announced in the government's skills strategy, Skills for Sustainable Growth published in November 2010.

Download Skills for Sustainable Growth from the Department for Business, Innovation & Skills website.

The strategy also advised that from August 2011, publicly funded support would be available to provide: 

  • Apprenticeships
  • Leadership and management programmes
  • Training for those made redundant
  • National Skills Academies

The Train to Gain funding covered the following qualifications: 

Apprenticeship - Residential Property

Apprenticeship - Surveying

Apprenticeship - Housing

Apprenticeship - Facilities Management

Apprenticeship - Cleaning

 

Read how employers benefitted from the programme:

Employer case study - Mitie

Employer case study - Busy Bees

Employer case study - University of Southampton

Employer case study - Plymouth Charity Trust

Employer case study - Peartree Cleaning

Info sheet – NVQs funded by Train to Gain

More Train to Gain facts here.

 

For more, contact Vanessa Last at Asset Skills on vlast@assetskills.org or call 01392 423 399.

Alternatively contact: 

Liz Black, Property Specialist: lblack@assetskills.org

Karen Waterlow, Facilities Management & Cleaning Specialist: kwaterlow@assetskills.org

Catharine Hinton, Housing Specialist: chinton@assetskills.org

Lisa Lister, Regional Manager, North: llister@assetskills.org

Andrew Cook, Regional Manager, South: acook@assetskills.org